Board of Trustees

The Columbus Municipal School District is governed by a five member Board of Trustees whose primary functions are to establish policies for the operation of the school district and oversee the implementation of those policies.

Schedule of Meetings

Regular School Board Meetings are held the second Monday of each month in Brandon Central Office at 6:00 P.M. The public is welcome to attend. Anyone wishing to address the Board may call the Board Clerk's office to be placed on the agenda. In addition, the Board of Trustees conducts school visits on a two year rotation. Click here to view the upcoming meetings.

School Board Meeting Videos

Regular school board meetings are video recorded and are available for viewing. Click here to view videos.


Agendas for board meetings can be viewed online. NOTE: agendas and backup material are subject to change prior to the meeting.

Board Members

  • Telisa C. Young, President
  • Fredrick D. Sparks, Vice President
  • Dr. Josie S. Shumake, Secretary
  • Dr. Cynthia S. Brown, Trustee
  • Robert Smith, Trustee

MSBA Board of Merit Award

The CMSD Board of Trustees was awarded the Mississippi School Board Association's Board of Merit Award for their dedication to the school district and high level of participation in MSBA events.

CMSD Board of Trustees poses for a picture when receiving the MSBA Board of Merit Award


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.