Dr. Philip Hickman



Craig Shannon

Deputy Superintendent


Pamela Lenoir

Director of Accountability

& Compliance


Nancy Bragg

Director of Assessment

& Special Services


Tammie McGarr

Chief Financial Officer


Beth Tippett

Director of

Information Systems


Jannette Adams

Grants & Special Projects



Jan Ballard

School Board Clerk


District Staff

Welcome to the home page for the Columbus Municipal School District in Columbus, Mississippi.


Columbus is the birthplace of Tennessee Williams and is proud of being known as "The Friendly City." It is also the home of Columbus Air Force Base, an important jet pilot training center. Columbus is located in the northeast portion of Mississippi near the Alabama state line.


Columbus Schools serve the people of the City of Columbus. The city schools are separate from the county school system. There are five elementary magnet schools, a new state of the art middle school, an award-winning technology center, and a comprehensive high school. CMSD is proud to be the first school district in Mississippi to offer school choice to parents of our kindergarten-fifth grade students.


Monies for the operation of the school system are secured through a local school tax levy, and state and federal funding, and competitive grants.


The system serves approximately 4,500 students. There are 700 teachers and support personnel. We are always looking for quality employees. There is no better place to learn.


My staff is always available to help. For information about Columbus and the Columbus Board of Trustees, you may call (662) 241-7400.


It's a great day to be a Falcon!

Board of Trustees

Angela Verdell - President

Currie Fisher - Secretary

Glenn Lautzenhiser - Member

Greg Lewis - Member

Jason Spears - Member


The Columbus Municipal School District is governed by a five member Board of Trustees whose primary functions are to establish policies for the operation of the school district and oversee the implementation of those policies.


Regular School Board Meetings are held the second Monday of each month in Brandon Central Office at 6:00 P.M. The public is welcome to attend. Anyone wishing to address the Board may call the Board Clerk's office to be placed on the agenda. In addition, the Board of Trustees conducts school visits on a two year rotation.


Board Policies and Procedures


Meeting Agendas


Board Meeting Videos

Columbus Municipal School District

Brandon Central Services Center

Mailing: P.O. Box 1308

Columbus, Mississippi 39703

Physical: 2630 McArthur Drive

Columbus, Mississippi 39705

Phone: 662-241-7400

Fax: 662-241-7453

Columbus Municipal School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-discrimination policies: Mr. Craig Shannon, Deputy Superintendent, Brandon Central Services Center, P.O. Box 1308, 2630 McArthur Drive, P.O. Box 1308, Columbus MS 39703-1308.

(c) 2012 Columbus Municipal School District

Beth TIppett, Web Master